The Nimble Man and Tears of the Furies – Christopher Golden and Thomas E. Sniegoski

The Nimble Man (The Menagerie, #1)

From the Publisher:

Behind the façade of a stately Boston brownstone, The Menagerie marshals their last defenses. Together, they will confront the minions of utter darkness, who have already begun their quest to resurrect the most malevolent of the fallen angels–whose wrath against mankind knows no bounds.

My thoughts:

This is a good start to a series.  We have a cast of unlikely heroes, led by none other than Arthur Conan Doyle, and a very good story.  This book has everything, vampires, shape shifters, demons, ghosts and hobgoblins.  The story is intriguing and fast paced, the characters are intriguing (I can’t wait to read the rest of the books in the series just to see their development and back story), and it made me laugh out loud in several places, while it was serious in others.   And the best thing about it, it reminds me of my favourite comics I used to read as a child.  Really enjoyed this one.


Tears of the Furies (The Menagerie, #2)

From the Publisher:
Meet the Menagerie–as hodge-podge a mix of other-worldly beings as anyone can imagine. But a sorcerer, a scientist, a sixteen-year-old demon, and the others all have one thing in common: a hunger for justice–no matter what the cost.

My thoughts:

The second installment of the series takes us to Athens, where the menagerie is investigating why men and women are turned into stone.  One of the things I really like about this series is how the authors take classic myths and they put a different spin on them.   I won’t go into too much detail because I don’t want to spoil the story, but I can say that this installment introduces us to the queen of the Gorgons, and that during the course of the story the team makes a foray into hell.  The main reason I like reading series is because I like to see the character development, and this one doesn’t disappoint.  Interesting plot, good cast of characters, fast paced story – a good choice overall.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

