Blood Cross – Faith Hunter

Blood Cross (Jane Yellowrock, #2)

From the Publisher:

Jane Yellowrock is back on the prowl against the children of the night…
The vampire council has hired skinwalker Jane Yellowrock to hunt and kill one of their own who has broken sacred ancient rules-but Jane quickly realizes that in a community that is thousands of years old, loyalties run deep…

With the help of her witch best friend and local vigilantes, Jane finds herself caught between bitter rivalries – and closer than ever to the secret origin of the entire vampire race. But in a city of old grudges and dark magic, Jane will have to fight to protect both sides, even if no one will protect her.

My thoughts:

This book started off strong (or maybe I should say that the series started off strong), but in the end it did not really deliver.  I really hate it when something is billed urban fantasy, and then it transforms into paranormal romance.  I don’t mind it if the author decides to throw in a romantic aspect as long as it doesn’t take over the story.  When it starts taking center stage, I get a little ticked off because that’s not why I picked up the book in the first place.  If I wanted something fluffy to read, I would have picked up something fluffy.  The only thing that saved this book for me is the fact that it’s not all fluff.  Okay, rant over.  I really like Faith Hunter.  I loved her Rogue Mage series, and when I picked up the Jane Yellowrock series I was hoping to see the same kind of world building and characterization.  I have to say that I like the setting, and I liked the plot line for the first book in the series.  This installment though left a little to be desired.  Too many tangents and way too many things going on – it was a little hard trying to keep track of everything at one point, the romance took over the storyline towards the end, and the main character was just morphing into another one of those tough as nails heroines that are so prevalent in the urban fantasy/paranormal romance genre that she lost some of the appeal.  The world building was still interesting, and the overall story was still interesting enough that I will pick up the next one in the series.  But if Jane transforms into another Anita Blake, that will be the last book in the series that I’ll read.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

