A Wreath for Rivera – Ngaio Marsh

A Wreath for Rivera (A Roderick Alleyn Mystery)

From the Publisher:

When one of Lord Pastern’s infamous jokes turns into the “accidental” death of a nightclub band member, Inspector Alleyn hears the unmistakable music of murder.

My thoughts:

One of my favourite Marsh mysteries.  Mainly because of all the times I laughed out loud while reading this.  I love Marsh’s descriptions, her quirky cast of characters, the overall mystery.  Yes, I do acknowledge that this mystery was not really believable, and neither were the characters, but the main reason I read is for the enjoyment factor.  I don’t expect mysteries to make me laugh out loud, unless I’m reading Georgette Heyer, but this one did, therefore it gets high points in my opinion.  I also like the fact that Alleyn’s presence was felt all the way from the beginning. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a Reply

